New Stuff

I collect stamps of other countries which have an Irish theme. This means I had to check thru the most recent edition of “Collect British Stamps” (Stanley Gibbons) to make a list of British stamps, which have a connexion to Ireland.

In May 2013, Britain issued this set of eleven stamps. I bought two sets from the “Royal Mail” in Belfast yesterday. The Presentation Pack arranges the eleven footballers as in a traditional team photograph. The Miniature Sheet (which I did not buy) emphasises this.

image My interest was primarily to obtain a mint and used stamp of George Best, the best footballer that “Northern Ireland” ever produced. Best is the player wearing the green shirt.

The bonus for me here is that there are three other Manchester United players in the set. And I have some great Manchester United postcard on which they will look even better.

The other stamps have no interest for me. I will use them on Christmas mail.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

