Writing Up Collection Is Going Well

I am taking an enforced but happy break from “mounting and writing up” my Irish Collection.

I gave up collecting in late 2000 and returning to collecting in March 2012, I had the difficult and expensive task of obtaining the “new issues” that I missed in a twelve year period.

I have now purchased all issues from 2006 to date (ie Christmas 2014). And I hope to complete the years 2001-2005 next year. Indeed, I already have most issues.

In late October, I mounted and wrote up the issues for the year 2000 and set myself the task of doing the same for the years 2001-2014. I thought that the work on each year would take a month. So I thought the task would take me to Christmas 2015.

In fact, I am delighted that it is going so much better than I expected. Today…21st November, I am well ahead of schedule. The years 2013 and 2014 are now in an album. The work on 2012 is almost complete. I am forced to stop because I have run out of album pages. More will be delivered in next few days.

Hopefully, I will resume the work on 2012 in the middle of next week. It is likely I will be finished with 2012, 2013 and 2014 at the end of November. And 2011 before Christmas.

Going into 2015 with just ten years to be written up means that I might finish in the middle of the year….my birthday is 10th May…so that completion date is certainly possible.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

