Internet Message Boards

It seems that joining an Internet Message Board is a bit like joining the Mafia. You can join…but you can only leave if you are weighed down by cement filled shoes and dropped in the East River.

To some extent, I can understand it. The continuity of Discussion is compromised if posts and profiles are removed. So there is no way out.

In the great scheme of things it is not really important. It is after all, only about Stamps. And it serves me right for joining a club which would have me as a member. I should have listened to Groucho Marx.

Curiously there is a Catch 22 -type Exit. Although casually leaving the group is not permitted, it is possible to be expelled. Seemingly the greatest sin is to bring the Message Board into “disrepute”. I am not sure that updating my profile to state that I dont like the group very much constitutes “disrepute” but at least…its a start.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

