The Glasgow Stamp Shop

Two weeks ago, I made a day trip to Glasgow.

I left Belfast at 6.30am and arrived in Glasgow via sea crossing and coach at 12.30pm. Spend less than four hours in the city before returning home. I arrived home around midnight.

The main purpose of my journey was to visit The Glasgow Stamp Shop.

Glasgow

The shop is situated about 500 metres from the main bus station. It is on the first floor of a building at West Nile Street. Very spacious and well laid out. There is a small hallway with glass cases showing an interesting collection of model post office transport.

There are two showrooms. Four tables and chairs in each room, where eight customers can look thru stockbooks and album sheets. A very casual unhurried and friendly atmosphere. The two showrooms are linked by a small corridor displaying accessories. and there is a stockroom for albums etc.

The low level shelving on all sides of the showrooms has a lot of “in trays” (probably the best way to describe them) and each “in tray” is full of album pages. They are clearly labelled with a large flag of a country (eg Netherlands, Belgium, Ireland) or a region (eg Latin America). Necessarily a larger country (eg France, USA, Japan) has more than one “in tray”.

Also an excellent Postal History (postcards) Section.

I will be returning to Scotland (with my wife) for a longer visit, later this month. I will certainly be going back to the Glasgow Stamp Shop.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

