“When I’m 64”

I was only 15 years old on the Saturday in 1967 when I bought “Sgt Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band” and heard the iconic “When I’m 64” for the first time. A couple of days ago, it struck me that this will be my age next birthday …in May 2016.

I am really pleased with the progress I am making with my (Irish) Stamp Collection. When I decided on 10th March 2012, to return to the hobby after a break of eleven years, it seemed a daunting task to catch up.

The position was that with the exception of less than twenty expensive stamps, my collection of mint and used from 1922 to 2000 was “complete”. Of course, it is the destiny of ALL collectors that no stamp collection is truly complete. It is always a “work in progress”.

So…in March 2012, I found myself trying to pick up the pieces. The first priority was to make sure that I did not fall even further behind so this meant regular trips to Dublin to buy new issues and buy some “Year Packs” from earlier years at “face value”.

The second priority was to work my way thru the early years of the 21st century….the mint and used stamps, miniature sheets and booklet panes. I should have been more methodical but frequent trips to Cathedral Stamps in Dublin and various Collector Fairs have reduced the Wants List considerably.

The one thing I underestimated was the albums and accessories I would need. I also underestimated the cost of new issues.

I also underestimated just how much time and energy I would need to mount and write up the Collection.

I always had a stock book filled with too many stamps waiting to be put into albums.

The good news is that the back-log is now completely cleared. All my Irish stamps are now on album pages but I need at least two new albums. As always, broad hints to my family. I also need to “write up” several of these pages…a task for winter nights in 2015/2016.

This means I can now deal with the remaining Wants List more methodically. …probably no more than twenty sets (mint and/or used) from the years 2001 to 2005. I have set a target of 10th May 2016…when I am 64 years old.

The next two months will be crucial with three opportunities to take stamps off my Wants List. From late September to late October, there will be local, national and regional Stamp Shows to attend. And later this year (late November) a chance to visit Glasgow and get some accessories for the winter.

On occasions over the last three years, I have allowed myself to get distracted….notably with Postcards and Postal History…so I think I need to concentrate on the main task until May 2016.

After May 2016, I can devote more time to secondary collections such as “Northern Ireland” regional stamps and Irish-themed stamps issued by other countries.

But….I am optimistic.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

