New Issues: 2015 (Part Six)

I was in Dublin on Thursday last. New issue. Five Senses. Some unusual and gimmicky aspects to the issue. As always, I bought a set to retain as mint. And a second set was posted to myself. They all arrived safely today.

image  image

The first point of interest is the face value of the stamps. Usually the highest value is the “airmail” rate which is currently €1.05. Three of the five stamps exceed this. I hope it is not a precedent.

Also each stamp has something unique about. For example, the Smell stamp has a fragrance and the Taste Stamp tastes of Strawberry. I am not sure how this affects people who are allergic but I joked with the post office clerk that there should maybe be a “sell by…” date on the stamp to ensure nobody gets ill.

The Sight stamp is transparent and it is self-adhesive. Although it is quite difficult to remove from the backing paper, it is an excellent idea. As can be seen from the envelope, I used in Dublin, the stamp seems to adopt the colour…in this case, green.

There is also some other innovation. As first used on the Animation set, earlier this year, there is some kinda “app” which can be uploaded to a cell phone or ipad and it interacts with the stamps in some way. I am far too old to care.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

