Local Annual Stamp Show …Preview

A busy month begins tomorrow. Three Stamps Shows…local, national and regional in the space of just five weeks.

My local stamp show is promoted by the local club. I am not a member. It has not changed much down the years and as far as I know it is now the only Show, promoted by a local club in the north of Ireland. I exclude the regional show in Belfast in just over a month.

There is unlikely to be any full-time stamp dealers in attendance. Perhaps five or six of the tables will be taken by club members, selling surplus items from their personal collections. There will also be part-timers selling Postcards, Militaria, Coins and general Collectables.

I spent much of this week reviewing various spreadsheets.

In terms of Irish Stamps, I still have about twenty five mint sets and twenty five used sets from 2001-2005 on my Wants List. As many of these are Miniature Sheets and self-adhesive stamps, it is unlikely that I will be able to take more than one or two sets off my list.

“Norn Iron” Regional stamps are notoriously difficult to find. But I might be able to add a few. Likewise used “British” commemoratives that have a specific Irish theme.

World Stamps? Well…I could try and obtain around one hundred used stamps…just for fun.

Yet there will be other items there. First Day Covers? Soon, I must write about excellent value Irish FDCs which I have bought over the past few weeks. Postcards? Well used “Golden Age” cards 1900-1922 are priced at unrealistic prices. On the other hand used modern “world” cards from vacations in Spain, Italy and Greece are likely to be cheap and fun.

Coins? Well, at this point, I do not wish to buy any Irish Coins but I might make a list of missing dates on cheap modern British coins from the pre-decimal period. I have a fondness for coins that were in my pocket in the 1960s. American Coins? Perhaps if I see something obvious and cheap.

As always, making up a Wants List helps. But inevitably impulse purchases undermine the pragmatism.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

