Local Annual Stamp Show…Report

Well, after careful preparation all week…I actually left home thismorning without my Wants List. Thankfully it did not matter very much. As always the local Mayor (the term of office is only one year) was there to wish the event well.

One of the odd things about the local show is that a good show tends to be followed by a bad one. I found 2014 a little disappointing and so my expectations for 2015 were low. But this year was very good.

Among the exhibitions was one on Postage Dues. It was called “Postage Dues…Keeping the Postmaster Honest” and another exhibition featured Postboxes on Stamps and Postcards.

In reality, the Show is as much about Postcards as it is about Stamps. There is a “cross-over” between Stamps and Postcards. And at this small, local level….the various “collecting” hobbies are supportive of each other.

So….purchases for the day…a set of four used stamps (£4), six sets of mint stamps (£21), three “Golden Age” postcards (£3), seven “slogan postmarks” 1940s -1970s (£5) and four Norn Iron First Day Covers (£6).

One of the postcards is featured below. “Kissing the Blarney Stone” posted in 1906 in Queenstown (now renamed Cobh) with a British stamp of course. I now have around forty five of these pre-Independence postmarks.

image

I did not buy any cheap packets of foreign stamps. Frankly there is more value in “trading” duplicates.

On balance, the Show was good for me. Some dealers attending today will be at the Irish National Stamp Exhibition in Dublin in just three weeks time. Some will be at a regional show in five weeks time so I have a second and third chance to buy items that I missed today.

I think the best thing about today was contacts made.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

