“Stampa 2015” Report

Irish National Stamp Show/Exhibition today.
It is actually a three day event and Saturday is usually the busiest day.
It runs alongside the National Coin Fair.
I think this reflects a general overlap of interests. I am primarily a Stamp Collector who dabbles in postcards, coins and general collectables. As I am nearing the point of completion, I made a conscious decision not to be distracted into impulse purchases of postcards and coins. As I have stated elsewhere in this Blog, I hope to be “complete” before 10th May 2016…my 64th birthday.

The best of the exhibits…I liked the “Kingdom of Italy 1863-1879” and “the First Irish Europa Stamps 1960”.
In terms of my own purchases, I bought six sets of stamps, three sets of self-adhesive stamps and eleven miniature sheets. The miniature sheets were heavily discounted.
The Irish Post Office (An Post) was doing a great job cancelling stamps. The covers I left with them were “dry” enough to collect from their stall and bring home with me.

A good day. I feel like I have made a lot of progress today.
Important to set this in the context of being the second (and most important) of three Shows in a five week period. In two weeks time, the “North of Ireland” regional show takes place in Belfast.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

