Disappearing: One Cents and Two Cents in Ireland

Two of the three “copper” coins will soon start disappearing in Ireland.

From today, One Cent and Two Cents coins will be taken out of circulation.

I still resist calling myself a Coin Collector. I am still a Stamp Collector, who has an interest in Coins. To recap these are the kinda coins, Irish and English that I would have had in my pockets from the 1950s to date. Also American coins I would have had in my pockets in Texas in February 2013. (And even a few Soviet Union coins from a visit in 1980).

I visit Dublin several times a year and usually come home with coins in my pocket. The higher value coins tend to be kept for the next visit but smaller copper coins are put in a money box and periodically given to a local charity. I have sorted one or two examples of each smaller coin (for every year after 2002) to be part of my collection.

So now I have an incentive to sort the coins in the money box.

image image

The photographs show my official collection of One Cent and Two Cents Irish Coins ….and the unsorted coins which are all duplicates and available for trade …for USA cents. There are also some unsorted coins which are from other “euro-zone” countries.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Coins and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

