Belfast Stamp Fair…31st October 2015

Yesterday.

The third Fair in five weeks. I was able to buy some Irish sets. They are shown in photograph (below). Some other stamps bought yesterday are already on envelopes and will be posted in Dublin in late November.

image This leaves me with just twenty four mint and/or used sets of Irish stamps to complete my Wants List 2001-to date. For the most part, they are booklet and/or self-adhesive stamps or miniature sheets. Hopefully I will complete this Wants List by either Easter 2016 or my 64th birthday (10th May 2016).

Of course this only brings me to the point I was in 2001 when I took a twelve year break from Stamp Collecting. There is a Wants List of “high value” stamps but to be frank, I think there are some stamps that I wont ever obtain but as these are overprints which started life as “British” stamps, I am not overly concerned that I will never be totally “complete”. Completion is always the philatelic dream but I think collections are always meant to be a work in progress.

Another purchase yesterday….around two hundred stamps on paper …for £2.50. Most are from Africa and the Middle East.

image Most of these stamps have now been soaked off paper and mounted in albums. To some extent, this is real “traditional”….even “juvenile” collecting. It is a simple pleasure. As I have always said, my World collection is pretty small (currently around 12,500) and I welcome the opportunity to add a lot of countries. I have recently arranged trades with collectors in Belgium and the Philippines and will try and arrange more in Canada and United States over the next few days.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Belfast Stamp Fair…31st October 2015

  1. keijo says:

    Nice find with that worldwide lot (drooling like Homer Simpson over a donut).

    • johnjgmooney says:

      I only bought two packets…basically they are poor quality kiloware that would not be acceptable in “real” dealers stock. And would be a poor quality in trading terms.
      Still quite nice to see authentically used stamps from (example) Burundi, Cote d’Ivoire, Papua-New Guinea, Lebanon.
      I think the total number of countries was something like 37.
      There is something very juvenile about this kinda collecting….but its the most fun. And I need to re-connect with the “fun” side.
      I intend to publish my spreadsheet showing total number of stamps from each country along with a short narrative…about targets and how I (mostly) came to have these stamps.
      The problem is not so much numbers. The real problem is a lack of balance in the numbers.
      Some countries, notable in Mid East, Africa and South America are under-represented.

  2. Timbrofil says:

    Nice pieces! How about the Romanian stamps in your “pretty small” ww collection?

    • johnjgmooney says:

      I have a spreadsheet with the the number of stamps from every country.
      Romania is one of the largest. This is because they were mostly from the 1960s and Cancelled To Order (not properly used).and are mostly “thematic stamps” showing Space, Sport, Birds etc.
      I would like some “modern” Romania issued in last 20 years or so.
      Later tonight, I will let you know the exact number of stamps from Romania that I have. (i am not near the main computer at the minute).
      It is my intention to publish the entire spreadsheet some day…in stages.
      Possibly I will start with the 28 Euro nations. Then Rest of Europe…North America, South America etc.
      And as well as numbers, I will publish some other details about “target” numbers from each country.

    • johnjgmooney says:

      Catalin….the number of stamps from Romania is 162.

Leave a Reply

