My Stamp Collection: Asia

I suppose Stamp Collecting is all about appreciating the history, culture, literature, music etc of different countries AND chronicling the changes that are taking place over a period of time.

Asia…I have never found the Orient very fascinating, in the same way that I find Europe, the Americas, Oceania and Africa to be fascinating. I do not why this is…but the “mystic” East just doesnt register with me.

Yet I have been collecting Stamps for over fifty years and this is the continent which seems to have changed the most …politically and philatelically.

Certainly China, Japan, Sri Lanka and India seem to dominate my small Asia albums. But this does not reflect changessince 1970. My China pages date from the era of Chairman Mao, the former Soviet republics barely register and there is under-representation ot some of the world’s economic powerhouses such as Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Singapore and Taiwan.

Likewise the “desert” kingdoms and emirates have emerged as powerful players on the world stage.

image image

 

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

