Some New USA Postcards.

Thanks to Barbara, a Facebook friend in New York for these postcards which I received yesterday.

I am often asked about the kind of USA postcards that I like. I cannot think of a better answer than referring to this group of cards.

I am always looking for something quirky…for example the Will Rogers Cowboy Museum in Oklahoma was a wonderful surprise last year.

So likewise the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame (Cleveland, Ohio) is a really nice card to have.

The Jefferson Davis Presidential Library (Biloxi, Mississippi) appeals to be as a History lover and can actually be incorporated into my writings and lectures on Conflict Resolution.

The Yuma, Arizona pair conjures up Johnny Cash singing “Johnny Yuma” (the theme from a late 1950s TV series) and countless mentions of Yuma Prison in so many movies.

So in a sense these postcards go to the very heart of a love affair with USA which has been going on for nearly six decades…conjuring up music by the Beach Boys, the Eagles and Linda Ronstadt….writing ¬†university essays (long into the night) about the American Civil War…and watching great westerns like Maverick, Rawhide and Gunsmoke.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Postcards and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some New USA Postcards.

  1. I have also been collecting postcards for a long time..Lucky for you that you have a friend that sends postcards. I have to go buy my own..

Leave a Reply

