Good Progress

Since I re-discovered Stamp Collecting in March 2012, there have been some good days and bad days. I had missed out on twelve years of Irish stamps  and finding mint and used copies of all those new issues AND  ongoing new issues (2012-2016 so far) was always going to take a lot of time, effort and money.

I think I set myself a realistic target of 10th May 2017…my 65th birthday. On good days,  I amended the target as it times it looked likely that I could achieve my goal ahead of schedule. On bad days, I amended the target as it looked likely I would not quite make it.

As things stand today, there might be about six sets left on the Wants List. At this point, I have to pay tribute to Declan O’Kelly at Cathedral Stamps in Dublin…the best of the Irish dealers. Getting a good dealer is important. I have one.

So the target of 10th May 2017 is realistic. Although not officially part of a Wants List, I am also interesting in completing a collection of “Northern Ireland” regional stamps.

This would not be “completion” in the fullest sense. But it would leave me with about twenty stamps from the period 1922-2000 which were on a Wants List when I gave up collecting. “Completion” is the goal of all collectors and certainly it will be possible to add some Seahorses and coils and varieties subject to availabilty at the right price.

While “Completion” is the goal of all collectors, sometimes it is just not practical. I do not smoke cigarettes or drink alcohol so for the most part, a stamp which costs the same as a packet of cigarettes or a pint of beer is not a problem. Only on very few occasions have I stretched myself beyond that. And I would not be comfortable with that. After all, I have a wife, two (married) sons and a growing number of grandchildren.

Recently I have bought some albums and album pages. For the most part, I have got stamps out of stock books and into albums. This has ground to a halt because I have no stamp mounts so a visit to Dublin in the middle of next week seems likely.

So between now and the annual national Stamp Exhibition in October, this stage should be complete.

The next stage from October 2016 to May 2017, is the write-up stage.

And thereafter…..it is all about maintenance.

 

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

