Early Irish First Day Covers

As I explained in a recent post, I am not a big fan of First Day Covers.It might seem surprising that I purchased two last week. I think they enhance my collection of Ireland.

The first cover (1949 Republic Recognition issue) is only identifiable as “first day of issue” because  of the date on the postmark on the stamp. The second cover (1953 Robert Emmet) has “First Day of Issue” on the cover.

image

These stamps were the lower values in two-stamp sets. But I think this gives them a certain authenticity.  Both these covers are now in my albums. The 1949 stamp is in Volume 1 (1922-1950) and this means that I now have postally used examples of at least one stamp in all commemorative issues in Volume 1…occasionally on first day of issue.

Below is a photograph of the 1949 stamps (mint, used and on cover) on an album page. I think this personalises a collection.

image

In my view…it is impossible to build a valuable collection but it is possible to build a unique collection.

 

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

