New Issues 2016: Part Four

New issues purchased on recent trips to Dublin.

image

A single stamp  (international rate) to commemorate the Centenary of the Battle of th Somme.

Recent increases in cost of sending mail necessitated new booklets for national and international postage. Two new booklets and one new coil strip were issued. Each booklet contains ten stamps in two designs from the Easter Rising “definitive series”. These stamps are available in pairs at the Philatelic Services counter at the General Post Office.

The coil features two different designs …again available as a pair at the GPO.

Four stamps (two at national rate and two at international rate) to commemorate the “Wild Atlantic Way”, Ireland’s scenic west coast.

And four stamps (two at national rate and two at international rate) depicting Irish Shop Fronts. I am disappointed in this set. They seem too small to really show the subject to best advantage.

 

 

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Issues 2016: Part Four

  1. Benjamin Joe says:

    I really enjoyed these updates and history of the Irish stamps since I don’t see the stamps here in the United States. I would be interested in trading U.S. stamps for Ireland stamps. Please let me know.

    • John says:

      Thanks Benjamin.
      I appreciate this. Really surprised at how many people from different countries are reading this Blog and always good to get a comment.
      I DO have used Irish duplicates and you are welcome to have some. I dont buy more Irish stamps than I actually need….ie one mint set and one used set. So I dont buy any to exchange. The world collection that I have is a very juvenile collection and I dont take it as seriously as I take Ireland.
      So happy to send you USED Irish duplicates and if you can send me any recent USED USA, that would be nice.

      • Benjamin Joe says:

        Hi John,
        I would like that very much. I appreciate your duplicates and can send you used and some new stamps. My wife and I honeymooned in Ireland 10 years ago. We always loved the beauty of the country and were glad we were able to see it. Hope to make it back there to see the rest of it some day. At that time, I had picked up some stamps there. Since then, I have sporadically bought stamps through a few stamp companies here. So it is nice to see your post and to have someone to talk to and maybe swap some stamps. Can you send me your address so I can send you some duplicates. Thank you.

        Benjamin Joe
        4532 Augustus Ct.
        Stockton, CA 95207
        USA

      • John says:

        In the next few days, I will sort out some duplicates for you….maybe around 50 or 70 might be the maximum that I can send.
        Give me a few days and I will get back to you.

      • Benjamin Joe says:

        Sounds good, John. I will do the same. Thank you.
        Ben

      • John says:

        I sent off some stamps yesterday. Sorry it took so long but I had a lot of stuff to sort thru.

Leave a Reply

