Some Older Covers

I picked up twelve older Irish  covers at a Fair in Belfast today. All from the 1930s and 1940s. They cost a total of £10 which is very reasonable.

Some ar shown above. I like the 1930 cover to South Africa and the 1942 censored cover to London, England.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some Older Covers

  1. Timbrofil says:

    Such pleasant old times, when typewriting on envelopes was so common. I like the slogan stamps on the covers. Regards, Catalin

    • John says:

      I now have about 60 of these covers and I have most (domestic…Ireland and Britain) issues from 1929 to 1960 on cover.
      Several of the covers I have have been sent to the same company in England. This might indicate that an employee of the firm was a stamp collector.
      I like the censored (World War Two) covers but I also like that some are “old fashioned” some of the envelopes are edged in black, indicating that there has been a death.
      There are also some good examples of “social history” …for example I like 1950s and 1960s postcards which have used commemorative stamps. The problem is that Postcard Dealers set prices too high.

      As I near “completion” and happy that I will never be able to afford the most expensive stamps, I am happy that I can add depth to my collection with these kind of covers and postcards.

Leave a Reply

