Portadown Stamp Show 2016

The annual Portadown Stamp Fair/Exhibition took place today at the Town Hall. To be accurate, it was more “postcards” than “stamps”.

I had set myself some targets for the day. I was hoping to pick up another pre-owned, black Senator Medium Album but this was always a long-shot. I had also hoped to pick up some commercially used covers from the 1960s. And while I failed to do so, I am really pleased with this purchase a “mourning envelope” dated 7th August 1870 and sent from County Kerry to an address in England. This is more than fifty years before Irish independence so “Queen” Victoria appears on the stamp and the postmark is in English.

image

I also picked up some nice pre-independence postcards including one posted in Strokestown, County Roscommon. There may not be many postcard dealers attending the annual National Stamp Exhibition (Dublin, 14-16 October). Seemingly most will be attending the annual Coin Exhibition, one week later.

I think that in a small country like Ireland, it is a shame that the Stamp and Coin Exhibitions are not being held together. It splits resources and many collectors with an interest in both these hobbies cannot realistically travel to two shows.

I also picked up seven First Day Covers from the 1950s and 1960s.  As I have said before, I am not an avid collector of FDCs but as I near completion (or as close as I will get to completion) of Irish stamps, then First Day Covers and commercially used covers seem to be the logical next step.

The Portadown Show is always visited by the local Mayor. Since local government was re-organised last year, the local council area has been enlarged to include the city of Armagh and the towns of Portadown, Lurgan and Banbridge. Below is a photograph of our Ard Meara (Mayor) Gareth Keating and…me.

image

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamp Fairs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

