Some New Covers

Not many purchases at Stampa 2016 yesterday. In part I was working to a very precise “wants list” of Irish miniature sheets (used).

A word about “used” miniature sheets. It is in part a risible concept. Miniature Sheets are generally only available at the Philatelic Bureau and generally bought as souvenirs rather than for postal purposes. I have of course seen some used on packages  or recorded delivery but generally “used” miniature sheets are contrived …often “cancelled to order”.

So yesterday, I purchased some from my “wants list” even though I am not entirely comfortable with the notion.

I am very happy with the above covers, bought reasonably for a total of €5. I really like genuinely used covers from before 1960. I like the subtext. Two covers posted to England in 1945 have been opened by the wartime Censor. But I really like the 1930 cover sent to British Guiana. Note that the Sender thinks that British Guiana is in Africa!

I now have quite a few of these covers.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some New Covers

  1. Timbrofil says:

    Really nice pieces, indeed! The idea with the ‘wish lists’ is very good, I also use as well. Could you tell me what’s that label ‘EXAMINER’ means? Catalin

    • John says:

      It means that this mail from Ireland to England was opened and read by a Censor/Examiner before being delivered.
      This happened often during 1939-45.
      Britain was at war. Ireland was a neutral country.
      Therefore Ireland continued to send mail to Britain and Germany and deliver mail from Britain and Germany.

      The British were afraid that the Germans could send mail to agents in Ireland and these agents could then send orders toGerman spies in England.
      The British also examined mail going out of England as sometimes people could accidently betray secrets.
      There was also some examination of mail in Ireland as Ireland was worried that the Germans or British might invade Ireland to use cities as bases for navy ships, uboats etc.
      After the mail was examined it was put back in the envelope and this “examiner” label was put on it to show the person receiving it that it had been read.

Leave a Reply

