Belfast Stamp Fair Report

Really a Stamp AND Postcard Fair. Saturday 29th October.

Actually pretty good.

I purchased …

….four 1960s Ireland First Day Covers for £6.

….seven “vintage” Ireland postcards from the period 1900-1922. Cost about £10. Of course in these years, British stamps were used and the postmarks are “English”. Maybe five or six dealers and as the Fair was based in north of Ireland, the number of postcards available from north east counties exceeds the southern and western counties. The problem with having a secondary interest in postcards….is the pricing structure. To a collector who is primarily interested in postcards, the view on the card, the place, the publisher is of more interest than the postmark.

….ten commercially used Ireland covers from the 1930s and 1940s. There is I think only two domestic rate commemorative issues from 1929 to 1960 that I do not have on a “commercial” cover. They add a lot of texture to my collection.

Two items of not so good news. The auction planned for 10th November has been cancelled. Also, I was “watching” some pre-owned albums on ebay but they were withdrawn from sale.

 

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamp Fairs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Belfast Stamp Fair Report

  1. ben joe says:

    Hi John,

    I got the stamps a few weeks ago. I apologize for not letting you know. I have been gathering some stamps to send back to you. I hope all is well with you. Thank you for the generosity and time. Keep in touch and I will let you know when I send you your package.

    Best Regards, Ben

  2. Alison Groves says:

    Hi John
    I have 2 stamp albums – personal collections dating back to the 70s but with some stamps predating 1922 (ie English!) – couple thousand stamps. I also have up to 20 first day of issue covers for 1970s stamps. I have been in the process of clearing out the family home for past 2 years now and am only starting to consider my stamp collection and would appreciate any advice you might have? My email address is grovesalison@eircom.net. Thank you in advance for your time. Alison

    • John says:

      Thank you Alison.
      I will reply properly later tonight.

    • John says:

      Its a difficult question.
      My gut reaction is to say hold on to them. Stams have two values …what you would have to pay for them and what you would get if you sold them.
      I only ever considered selling my collection once….around 1990 when I was a few years married, with a young family and we needed a new car badly.
      I brought the three albums to Dublin. Saw a dealer….and was made an offer well below my expectations.
      I was not disappointed because it made my decision NOT TO SELL very easy.
      A good offer would have made it easy to sell but if the offer was “in between”, then it would have been a hard decision.

      To be honest Alison, I have never heard of anyone getting a really good offer. Stamp Fairs tend to have albums with stamps that just dont sell. Unfortunately stamp collecting is a dying hobby, mostly old timers like myself who are clinging on.
      The good thing about not selling my collection was that it made me angry enough to really try and build something as an heirloom…sentimental value rather than fina ncial value….
      I dont think the First Day Covers from 1970s will sell but the chances are that in any collection of 2,000 stamps, there are probably one or two that people will really want.
      But I would urge you not to sell. You just wont get the value.
      More satisfaction in passing them on to a young relative as a starting point.

Leave a Reply

