A Nice Find

Over a period of more than fifty years collecting Irish stamps, I have on occasion had some lucky finds. This one…found in a bundle of commercially used covers which I bought earlier this year…is probably the best.

image

It dates from 1934. The single stamp was issued to commemorate   the 50th Anniversary of the Gaelic Athletic Association. I have multiples of stamps from 1930s and 1940s. They add a context.

I like to rotate covers in my stamp album. It makes collecting more interesting.

A few weeks ago, I was rotating the GAA cover. It is a nice “clean” cover. Sent from Dublin to an address in the Isle of Man. There is also a nice slogan postmark “Use The Telephone”. A glimpse of Irish life over eighty years ago.

When I bought the cover and even when I owned it for several months, I did not notice a note on the back of the envelope. “Note new stamp”, drawing the attention of the addressee to the GAA stamp.

And indeed the date on the postmark (27th July 1934) confirms that this is a VERY new stamp….this is a First Day Cover.

These FDCs from the 1930s are very rare.

Value? Hard to say. There is always a disconnect between selling and buying price. But I think that a collector would expect to pay £100-£125.

A nice find.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Nice Find

  1. Pat Brady says:

    A very nice find. Hibernian catalogue 2009 values it at €300.

    Cill Dara

    • John says:

      I think Raven Stamps have two of them, also around that price. I really just got lucky. I have maybe about six of the GAA stamps on cover and was sorting out two or three to go on “display” in the album when I noticed the date.

Leave a Reply

