Update

The annual Irish “St Patrick’s Day” is issued today but the weather here in Ireland is terrible. Very strong winds and rain…so I have postponed my trip to Dublin or Lifford, County Donegal until Monday or Tuesday of next week.

Last Saturday, a small fair in Belfast. Not much for an Ireland collector but a new Amateur Dealer is selling  used world-wide stamps which are individually priced. This is stamp collecting in its most basic form….FUN!!!!

So I bought around one hundred stamps, mostly Faroes and Greenland which are rarely seen.

The Dealer predictably had good stocks of “English Commonwealth” so my collection can be boosted by several hundred. Although I have a lot of stamps from Australia, Canada and New Zealand, I do not have many stamps from the “island nations” such as in the West Indies.

The Dealer also had good stocks from several other nations. In many ways, I was making mental notes on availability and pricing. I like 21st century stamps. As i was not actively collecting from 2001 to 2010, this means I can buy stamps from 2001 without any fear that I am buying duplicates.

So ….Belfast on Saturday again. Two collectors fairs within 200 metres of each other.

Hoping this Dealer is at one of them. Looking out for used 21st century Belgium, Netherlands, France, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Greece, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Finland, Austria, Cyprus, Malta, Jamaica, Barbados, Bahamas, Antigua-Barbuda, Japan, China, Taiwan, Malaysia, Singapore, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Botswana, Lesotho, Swaziland, Gambia, Zambia, Malawi and Zimbabwe.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

