World Targets… 2017

For me, Stamps is really two different hobbies. My collection of Ireland is “philately” and my collection of the World is “just stamp collecting”.

My collection of World stamps is very unbalanced. And although I started collecting stamps around 1960, I only have about 15,000 stamps (this figure does NOT include Ireland).

So I have drawn up a spreadsheet showing the countries of the world…the number of stamps that I have and the target for 31st December 2017.

Recent purchases of cheap kiloware have helped. I am now exceeding the target I set for Japan and Austria. And very close to the target for France and China.

It is a lot of fun adding a lot of very cheap stamps.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to World Targets… 2017

  1. Timbrofil says:

    I find myself in your words about ‘philately/just stamp collecting’, because I do the same with my Romanian/worldwide stamps.
    It’s interesting your idea with the targets for the end of the year! Perhaps I’ll insert this column on my Excel lists.
    About the fun of adding cheap stamps to collection, I agree, I was in the same situation when I sorted and added old Austrian stamps in my albums.
    I wish you a wonderful day!
    Catalin

    • John says:

      A lot of collecting is based on geographic areas and language or historic connexions. A lot of stamps are not available at local fairs. Most stamps here are English language or commonwealth.
      If I lived in France, a lot of stamps would be from French former colonies like Algeria, Cote d’Ivoire etc.
      The Stamp World is not balanced.

Leave a Reply

