“Fun With Flags”

Dr Sheldon Cooper and Amy Farrah-Fowler are not the only nerds who have fun with Flags.

I have been updating information for my World Collection. I have an up to date Flag Sticker book. It contains the flags of all 193 United Nations members plus Vatican and Kosovo which are not members. Oddly it does not include Taiwan, Palestine and Northern Cyprus which are de-facto nations. In the interests of completion, it would be nice to have United Nations itself and even the ridiculous Sovreign Military Order of Malta.

As you can see, I am writing up information on each member nation to be included in my albums. A small flag  “sticker” will be affixed to each page. For comparison, I am also showing an album of 80 bubblegum cards from circa 1960.

There are now so many more countries than in 1960. France, Britain, Netherlands, Spain and other imperial nations were thankfully compelled to give up their overseas colonies because of the post-war de-colonisation process. And of course, USSR, Czechoslovakia and Yugoslavia have broken up.

I am undecided about whether I should write up pages on 2017 colonies such as Hong Kong, Greenland, Martinique etc. But I hope I finish this project before Easter.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Administration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

