New Issues 2017: Part Four

A new issue yesterday, so I was in Dublin.

Four stamps depicting Royal Sites of Ireland. All are at National Rate. The four sites shown are Hill of Tara (County Meath), Eamhain Mhacha (County Armagh), Rathcroghan (County Roscommon) and Rock of Cashel (County Tipperary).

These sites are the royal sites of the High King of Ireland (Tara) and Kings of Ulster, Connacht and Munster respectively.

There are actually two other Royal Sites. Dún Ailinee (County Kildare) is the site of the Leinster king and the Hill of Uisneach (County Westmeath) is the ceremonial centre of Ireland. I think they should have been included in the set.

As Eamhain Mhacha is just fifteen miles from my home and just  five miles from my mother’s birthplace, I sent myself a postcard  which will have a “first day” cancellation.


In modern terms, there are four provinces in Ireland but the Gaelic word for “province” is “cúige” which means “one fifth”. The fifth province is “An Mhí” meaning “The Middle” and the area ruled by the High King. It is mostly the area of modern County Meath.

The wisdom of the ancients never ceases to amaze me. Modern technology and satelites identify the actual centre of Ireland as Carnagh, which is just nine miles from the Hill of Uisneach.



About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s