Stamp & Postcard Fair

Stamp & Postcard Fair in Belfast yesterday.

Not a good day for Stamps but a great day for Postcards. I picked up four  Irish “golden age” postcards from the early 1900s.

But I also got NINETY used modern postcards from several different countries. Really happy that I got some “new” countries…Malawi, Gambia, Seychelles and Ecuador.

A good day.

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamp Fairs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stamp & Postcard Fair

  1. Anthony says:

    Do you collect a particular subject….or style?

  2. John says:

    In respect of postcards?
    No not really. The interest in postcards is very secondary to my interest in stamps. Initially it was about souvenirs from towns and villages that I/we visited.
    I have almost 2,000 Irish postcards (all unposted) which I collected and still collect in this way. Thirty years ago most newsagents/gift shops stocked postcards. Now many shops dont bother. The technology of camera phones has increasingly made postcards redundant.
    There is a golden age…pre telephone access, say 1900-1920 when people sent each other postcards. The added interest in the Irish sense is that this was pre-partition and pre-independence so it is a reflection of what was going on at the time. A “Gone With the Wind” dimension. But it also ties in with First World War and a period when British stamps were used thru-out Ireland and the postmarks were all in “English”.
    My interest in golden age is really about the postmark. But prices are often related to subject eg railway stations, topographical scenes, politics and the publisher. It is a nice sideline for me.
    I dont think I had any real interest in foreign postcards prior to the Internet and friendly exchanges means I have about 900 unposted postcards from USA. I suppose if there is a theme…it is Americana (stadiums, cities, museums, history). In practical terms, they are merely photographs.
    I think USA (unposted) was the right choice for me.
    But I think rest of the world (unposted) was a bad choice for me. Cards from (say) Spain, Italy, Brazil, Australia, Japan etc become more interesting when a commemorative stamp is attached. In part, I find that this unites Card and Stamp….in a way that acknowledges the simple peace-making opportunity that is “international mail”. The Universal Postal Union is a great asset to Civilisation.
    So finding ninety very cheap used postcards yesterday was a good day.
    There are 193 nations recognised by UNited Nations and another 7 recognised by me (and I am considerably more important than the UN). I now have used postcards from 80 of the 200 (plus other cards from colonies and territories). The fact that they are worthless in monetary terms is actually a bonus.

Leave a Reply

