Stampa 2017 (National Stamp Exhibition)

Dublin 6th October-8th October 2017.

As I have free travel to Dublin, I decided to attend on Friday and Saturday. This is the highlight of the year for Stamp Collectors in Ireland. I only saw two schoolchildren and this was proof positive of the decline of a hobby. I am a sprightly 65 year old man and I felt very young.

And I don’t feel very young very often.

It was certainly a chance for collectors to meet up. But I have never been overly social with other collectors. I just don’t feel like I am “one of the boys”. Which reminds me…the attendance was about 98% male. As far as revival of Stamp Collecting is concerned, we must face facts that we are now beyond the point of No Return.

For people like myself, who are edging slowly towards Completion, there are fewer stamps left on Wants Lists and as the stamps we want are not small change and pocket money, we tend to think longer and harder about buying a stamp. I bought just three stamps on Saturday and (at best) I plan on only buying two stamps before Christmas. I am not sure if the cheap First Day Covers and “golden age” postcards which I DID buy are a distraction from “Completion”.

Another point worth noting…and it is NOT a good sign …is that I heard too many collector express indifference to New Issues. Many don’t collect stamps issued after 2000. The market for low value stamps just does not seem to exist.

Dealers? …maybe eight or nine. Same as last year. And I managed to antagonise one.

 

About John

Dia Duit! Hello. My name is John. I am retired. I live in Ireland. I am on a five year mission to visit every city, town, village and place of historic and scenic interest in Ireland.
This entry was posted in Stamps and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

